Phonica Mix Series

Phonica Mix Series 16: Lady Blacktronika


Up next in Phonica Mix Series (and just in time to get you hyped up for the Bank Holiday weekend) is Akua Grant AKA ‘The First Lady of Deep House’ aka Lady Blacktronika!

Born and bred on the West Coast but now residing in Berlin, Akua has been consistently dropping deep and dusty house cuts for the past ten years. She initially cut her teeth in the music scene by contributing her unique vocals to the tracks of San Jose’s Matt “Mattski” Avalos who she later formed Cocaine Records with. For many years Akua & Mattski tried to gain support for their imprint but only received ambivalence or negative feedback on their productions. Disheartened and down on her luck, Akua decided to relocate from Los Angeles to the quiet town of Mount Shasta. It was here where Akua began to produce her own tracks and finally made the transition from contributing vocalist to solo producer. One of her particularly raw tracks, “It’s All About Survival” caught the attention of Detroit hero Mike Huckaby who premiered it on his radio show. Dubbyman who was an avid listener to Huckaby’s program, was blown away by what he heard and tracked Akua down to release the track on 2007’s Deep Explorer Ocean Species. From then on she began to gain critical support from accomplished producers and DJ’s in the scene and today she’s become a mainstay in many clubs throughout Europe, heads up her own label called Sound Black Recordings (which we’re huge fans of!) and just dropped her latest release on Meda Fury which we still have a few copies left of here at the shop. Tracklist down below!


1. Lady Blacktronika – Never Heard the Word Impossible
2. Fulbert – R.A’s Edit
3. Uncle Deep – Just Do It Tomorrow
4. Deymare – Back To The House
5. Arturo Garces – My Sound
6. Lady Blacktronika – Empty Without U
7. Alex Agore – There Is No Love
8. Erman & Abtomat – Shahh
9. Greg Cash – Party Chat (Instrumental)
10. Arturo Garces – What I Want
11. DCM – Esperándote
12. Dan Mela & Lady Blacktronika – Drive Me Crazy (Deep Mix)
13. Deep Elementz – Bang For The Future
14. Earth People – Dance (Franklin De Costa Tool Edit)
15. Fantastic Man – Wie Gehts
16. Rick Wade – I Can’t Take It
17. Blue Boy – Sandman
18. DJ Sneak – Wickedy Sounds
19. Studio X – Los Kings Del Mambo
20. Mr. K’Alexi Shelby – The Dream
21. Trankilou – Bill Collector
22. Those Disco Guys – I’m Holding On (Original Mix)
23. Mr O & Infinix – Dream Chaser
24. Roman Rauch – Slowswing
25. Lady Blacktronika – Sample Di Poison
26. Lady Blacktronika & Ugly Drums – Change The Key
27. Lady Blacktronika – B Set Free


You Might Also Like